Day 11: Tell Senators to Vote NO on Jeff Sessions and Betsy DeVos

Tuesday, Senate Committees vote on Trump’s nominees to head Education and the Department of Justice. 

DAY 11 ACTION: Call your Senators on the Judiciary Committee and tell them to vote NO on Jeff Sessions. BONUS ACTION: Call your Senators on the HELP Committee and tell them to vote NO on Betsy DeVos.

Steve Sack, Minneapolis Star Tribune

The President’s top advisors – the heads of 15 agencies (plus the Vice President) – are known as the Cabinet. Under the Constitution, the President nominates Cabinet members but the Senate must confirm them. Nominees are first vetted by a Senate Committee; if the Committee votes in favor of a nominee, he or she “goes to the floor” for a full vote in the U.S. Senate. Tuesday, Senate Committees vote on two Trump Cabinet officials:

** If you have access to a computer tomorrow at 9:30 am, you can live-stream the Judiciary vote on Jeff Sessions from the Committee website. At 10 am eastern standard time, you can live-stream the HELP hearing on CSPAN.**

Today’s action: If you have a Senator on the Judiciary Committee, call the Senate (202-224-3121), ask for your Senator’s office, and tell them to vote no on Jeff Sessions.

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Grassley (R-IA) (Chairman); Feinstein (D-CA) (top Democrat on the Committee); Blumenthal (D-CT); Coons (D-DE); Cornyn (R-TX); Crapo (R-ID); Cruz (R-TX); Durbin (D-IL); Flake (R-AZ); Franken (D-MN); Graham (R-SC); Hatch (R-UT); Hirono (D-HI); Kennedy (R-LA); Klobuchar (D-MN); Leahy (D-VT); Lee (R-UT); Sasse (R-NE); Tillis (R-NC); Whitehouse (D-RI)

Today’s BONUS action: Senator Franken announced that no Democrat on the Committee plans to vote for DeVos. If you have a Democratic Senator on the HELP Committee, call and thank them for voting no! If you have a Republican Senator on the Committee, ask them to join their colleagues in voting no on Betsy DeVos. WE KNOW! This was the DAY 4 ACTION! And those calls helped delay her vote; this call could convince a Senator to vote NO!

HELP COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Alexander (R-TN) (Chairman); Murray (D-WA) (top Democrat on the Committee); Baldwin (D-WI); Bennet (D-CO); Burr (R-NC); Casey (D-PA); Cassidy (R-LA); Collins (R-ME); Enzi (R-WY); Franken (D-MN); Hatch (R-UT); Hassan (D-NH); Isakson (R-GA); Kaine (D-VA); Murkowski (R-AK); Murphy (D-CT); Paul (R-KY); Roberts (R-KS); Sanders (D-VT); Scott (R-SC); Warren (D-MA); Whitehouse (D-RI); and Young (R-IN).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s